If you are convicted in Columbus of an OVI offense, the penalties are severe. Below is a list of penalties for a <!––>first time offender<!––>. Keep in mind, just because you are a first time offender, it is NOT a right of passage to the minimum sentence. The judge will take into consideration the totality of the circumstances that surrounded the arrest.

A first time offender with a chemical test below .170 or a refusal of ANY chemical test, faces a minimum of 3 days in jail or 3 days in a driver’s intervention program, a $375 minimum fine and a minimum of a 6 month driver’s license suspension. Those are the minimum penalties allowed by statute.

However, a convicted person faces up to 6 months in jail, a $1075 fine and up to a 3 year driver’s license suspension. In addition, the restrictive yellow plates and ignition interlock are both optional at the court’s discretion.

If you test a .170 or above by a chemical test, you are considered a “high tier” test and the penalties are enhanced. They include: 6 days in jail (3 days may be served in a driver’s intervention program), $375 fine, 6 month driver’s license suspension, and mandatory restrictive license plates. However, the maximum penalties mirror the above mentioned for a test below .170.

An OVI conviction in Columbus, Ohio is a serious offense. You should always hire an experienced DUI / OVI lawyer to help guide you through the process. We here at Suhre & Associates have over 20 years of combined experience to help during this stressful time.

So, if you or a loved one has been arrested for a first time DUI in Columbus, Ohio, call Suhre & Associates at 614-914-4822. The call is FREE and there is no obligation.